NYC Marathon Countdown……

25 Oct

Photo Borrowed from the Internet

In ten short days, I will be boarding a flight to NYC with my two munchkins– and two days after that–I will be running  the NYC Marathon!

I am so excited about this race and feel that I am ready.  Ever since I found out that I was in through the lottery–I have been training.  And now I  am just ready to just run the thing.

Everytime I see a movie or show filmed in NYC, I think, “I’m going to run across that bridge”,

“or down that street”,

“or by that building”.

The race begins on Staten Island and runs through all five burroughs (although I hear that most of it is in Brooklyn).  There are three waves of runners and each wave contains 15,000 runners!  45,000 runners (not including the elites)!  I can’t even imagine…….my first marathon had 500 people and went through the back country roads of Olympia, WA.  And, although I was happy to have finished it, I have to say that I was alone and bored throughout most of it.  This will be a completely different experience.

I love New York and I think I am going to love, love, love this race.  (This is my third marathon and I have never been this excited to run one before.)  Just to be in the city before and after the race with my kids and sister and mom will be a lot of fun.  I’ve got lots of restaurants and bakeries to check out…..and after running 26.2 miles, I will deserve a piece of crack pie from Momofuku Milk Bar.  And maybe a new camera from B&H.

My kids, my mom, sister and nephew will be there to cheer me on.  My in-laws may even drive over from Vermont.  (Too bad Aaron can’t make it —but he has deadlines. And stress.) It is going to be awesome…..just got to get my iPod playlist together, organize my running clothes, and supplies and do one last weekend run to prepare.

I may not run fast but I will run the NYC Marathon!

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

