Product Review: Palm Plates

7 Sep

Perfect Petite Palm Plates Picnic

When I was given the opportunity to review a product for this here little blog–I was excited….my first ever product review!  I had all kinds of ideas (luau)  of how I would review these plates and what I could do to test them.  But, when it finally came around to it–I realized that I wasn’t going to be making a luau feast anytime soon and had the usual time and over-commitment constraints to blame.

Not to mention, since we have moved from Hawaii to Sarasota, I have not been able to find any of the key ingredients needed for a proper Hawaiian feast.  (This is a real bummer–especially because Aaron’s birthday is coming up and he would love to eat poke and lau lau’s this weekend. Anyone have any suggestions of where I can get taro leaf in Florida?)

So, I decided to go a different route with this review.

Hiking near Zolfo Springs, FL

Did I tell you I am teaching a class about biodiversity?

There is a local art college that requires the students to take liberal arts classes including science, English and history.  So, as a second job, I teach a class once a week.  Science to artists.

I have been aware and concerned with environmental issues for a long time but it hasn’t been until I was getting my class organized, that I started to really get the importance of encouraging everyone to do every little thing we can to stop the decline of biodiversity.  Species are going extinct at a rate never thought to have been experienced.  Many species go extinct before we even know that they exist.  While many of these species are the tiniest of tiny bacteria–not all of them are–and even the tiniest bacteria have important roles to play in our ecosystem.

Giant Mushroom

One of the main reasons for this loss of biodiversity is habitat loss.  As populations increase and the world continues to develop, the need for raw materials increases.  To obtain these raw materials, plants and animals are destroyed.  All of the habitat destruction doesn’t just impact the animal world—our communities face the impacts of severe flooding, drought, starvation and landslides as a direct result of habitat degradation.    This doesn’t even include all of the cultural and social loss that occurs when communities lose their homes and natural resources.

You might be asking yourself, “What in the world does this have to do with Palm Plates?”

Perfect for a Little Lunch by the Pool

One of the coolest things about the Palm Plates is not that they are disposable/biodegradable/compostable—it is the fact that they are created by palm leaves that are naturally shed by the trees.  NO TREES OR PLANTS ARE CUT DOWN TO MAKE THEM.   It is a win-win.  We get pretty disposable plates that we can feel good about.  The communities that are involved get economic development without destruction of their valuable habitats.

And, they are impossibly sturdy!  This plate below is holding an entire cut up pineapple and shows no signs of bending under the weight.

Palm Plates with Pineapple

Look at them!  They are beautiful……and they each have a unique look to them—and though I only used mine for a quick little picnic alone–they would be perfect for a beach or a mountain wedding reception!

Palm plates are a product of the Marx Food Company, which I had never heard of until they sent me these plates.  However, looking at their website, they seem like a company I can support.  They sell a wide assortment of goodies like wild huckleberries, wild boar sausage, and ice cream molded like strawberries (I don’t understand how this is shipped out to people.). If you are interested in the Palm Plates or the other stuff that they sell, check out their website:  http://www.marxfoods.com

DISCLAIMER: Marx Foods did send me a few Palm Plates to review but this review in no way was influenced by the company.  It is an honest and open review.  I just so happened to like their product.

Leave a Reply

