No sugar, no wheat, no alcohol, no caffeine.

28 Jan

Next Monday, February 1st, I will begin the above cleanse…..According to my friend, this cleanse will rid my body of my toxic sugar addiction, cleanse my mind and spirit, and result in excellent skin and beautiful hair.  There may also be a period of emotional stress resulting in depression, anxiety, and feelings of worthlessness.  Yikes!  However, since I like to do extreme and odd things–I decided to give it a go.  I can do anything for a month, right?  My sister, a couple of her friends, and my mom are all joining in on the cleansing–starting next Monday.  (Hmmmm, I have got to think of a fantabulous way to celebrate and kick-off this cleanse.  Maybe Smitten Kitchen’s Homemade Oreos?)  And anyone else that feels like a whole month of boring—join us! 

There are a couple of problems that come with this cleanse.  One being cravings.  Another, grumpiness.  I haven’t yet decided what to do about the cravings.  February is a pretty quiet month (or so I thought) as far as gatherings go, so I felt that I would have less temptation.  However, I thought wrong.  I forgot about Nova’s birthday, the Super Bowl, Chinese New Year, Valentines Day, and the start of the Easter candy season.  Not to mention the fact that I volunteered to make 100 mini cupcakes for Sawyer’s “Elegant Party”.  I think I like to torture myself.

Watch out, because next week, I will be making sweets and blogging about them—-but not able to sample them.  Even the thought of it makes me grumpy.

6 Responses to “No sugar, no wheat, no alcohol, no caffeine.”

  1. Leona February 1, 2010 at 8:08 am #

    hmm considering it!

  2. Nirmala February 2, 2010 at 6:46 am #

    What a coincidence. I’m on a similar detox but I did not stop eating wheat though I did reduce the bad carbs. I was overwhelmed by my brother-in-law’s French style cooking during my holiday visit. Great great food and wine but my body was very unhappy so as soon as I returned I went on no sugar, no caffeine, no wine, and no bad carbs. The first week was hard because you’re going through withdrawal but if you can get through the first week, you’re golden! It was tough especially in my office where there is always treats and food around. Now I don’t even want any of the bad sweets and candy.

    I’m curious what no sugar means to you? No cookies and candy seem obvious. What about fruit or cereal?

    Best of luck!

    • kgracie71 February 2, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

      The first day was hard for me! I am eating no fruit except the occasional grapefruit and berries. Some cereal would be okay–but I don’t drink milk…so that hasn’t been an option really. Thanks for the encouragement!

  3. Alison February 2, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    You are really brave for trying this! I already avoid caffeine and alcohol, but the sugar and wheat…that would be so hard! I’m addicted to a glass of tea every morning. Good Luck to you!! Oh, and Welcome to the Foodie Blogroll!

  4. Sook @ My Fabulous Recipes February 2, 2010 at 10:38 pm #

    Wow, good luck with your new diet. No sugar would make me go insane but I know you can do it. 🙂

  5. Carol May 11, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    I’m on my 17th day of the same diet, I also included no alcohol. Days 4-6 were really hard, I was craving sugar like an addict but by the 7th day it was gone. So far I have not experienced the negative feelings you described (depression and all) and I do feel way better than before. As for caffeine, I kept green tea and stopped coffee and chocolate. For sugar I included all fast carbs like pasta and bread. I found out these make me bloated. I might continue with my new food habits after the 21st day. It’s not hard to do it anymore 🙂

Leave a Reply

