I. Can’t. Stop.

25 Jan

Looking at cooking blogs, that is.  I feel like I am doing something shameful as I sneak away to my laptop to look at one more recipe…or click one more link.  As soon as my husband  comes into the room, I immediately switch the screen back to someting more respectable, namely Facebook.  I am obsessed.

It all started with the start of this blog–before I even opened my wordpress account, I didn’t really have a good idea of what blogs were.  I would read some of my friends blogs on the trials and tribulations of motherhood and others on the art of writing children’s stories—but it wasn’t until I started thinking, writing about and constantly baking cakes, did I realize how many great food blogs there are.  And it was during my cake “research” that I realized how much great food there is and how much I enjoy cooking it. 

Lately, I have been particularly smitten with Smitten Kitchen, 101 Cookbooks, and Amateur Gourmet, and yesterday’s cooking frenzy was entirely related to their blog posts (and one of my own).  I made Seeded Flatbread and Red Lentil Soup from 101 Cookbooks, the Mushroom Bourguignon* from Smitten Kitchen, a double batch of granola (my secret recipe inspired by a post by the Amateur Gourmet), and a chocolate crazy cake with maple buttercream frosting, decorated for Valentines Day (I know it is a bit early but I felt like I needed an excuse to use my pretty pink sugar sprinkles).  It was a busy cooking afternoon and my sweet children cooperated by yelling and screaming into a microphone, in the other room, while I ignored them.  (They were playing around with voice altering software, so it was all good.)

Of course I took pictures, but of course I left the camera at home so the photos will have to wait.  In the meantime, check out the above links for some great recipes and photos of the same food taken by real food photographers. 

Are there other food blogs out there that I should know about? 

*Oh, and by the way, as I was cooking the Mushroom Bourguignon, I started to get scared.  I don’t like mushrooms THAT MUCH and the recipe calls for 2 pounds (that’s a lot of mushrooms!).  But, with the egg noodles and a little bit of sour cream, it was delicious!  My hard-core carnivore husband even went back for seconds AND ate the leftovers for breakfast this morning.  It was that good!

3 Responses to “I. Can’t. Stop.”

  1. Simply Life February 2, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

    I understand – I never read food blogs before making my own and now I love doing it!

  2. Renee February 2, 2010 at 3:39 pm #

    me too!!! Since I became a member of the Foodie BlogRoll recently I am spending way too much time looking at everyone’s blogs…between that and FaceBook I hardly have time for anything anymore! So, if you get a chance, check out my humble blog at http://www.mealsforfriends.com. Cheers and happy blogging!

  3. Serena DeMarco May 19, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

    I am newly OBSESSED with food blogs – I really can’t get enough .. here are two that I look forward to every morning!! loveandoliveoil.com as well as annies-eats.com they are both great reads!! Enjoy and keep up the good work… Definitely going to have to try the Rainbow Cake.. and I am making the Vanilla cupcakes this weekend as well!

Leave a Reply

