Cake Number 2:The Dump-It Cake

23 Nov

I love excuses to bake cakes and the winter season is perfect for that…  There are birthday parties, work parties, school parties, neighborhood parties, cookie parties, gifts for neighbors, teachers and friends.  And, don’t forget the need to have lots of sweets in the house at all times (it IS the holiday season, you know. And what would a holiday be without cakes, cookies or candy?)

This morning really felt like Christmas-y to me…I was up early making chicken adobo for my son’s school “Feast of Nations”–He chose the Philippines as his country to report on and we were supposed to bring a dish from the country.  My brother has just moved to the Philippines and I talk constantly about our upcoming trip to visit him–so Sawyer decided to study the country before we go there.  (Did you know that in the Philippines there are monkeys that stand 6 inches high and have enormous ears?) 

Anyway, it was very foggy outside and it almost felt cold (about 70 degrees!)……There was a freshly frosted cake (number 2!) on the counter and the smell of cooking food just made me feel all warm and festive.  However, my Christmas-y spirit disappeared when I stepped on our rotten pumpkin on the front steps (it is a science experiment now…how long will it take for the bugs to eat it away?) And, unfortunately Nova is too sick to go to her Thanksgiving feast today so, although we dropped off the amazing looking cake–we won’t get to try any.  Doesn’t it look pretty?:

The cake recipe I followed was one for “Dump-It Cake” that I heard on NPR about four years ago.   I was driving home from work when I heard the segment and was so inspired that I immediately went to the grocery store for the ingredients and a kitchen supply store to  get a bundt cake pan.  As soon as I got home, I baked that cake.  And it was delicous…..especially right out of the refrigerator. 

By the way, if you do a search for dump cake, you will find a bunch of recipes for cake that consist of “opening a bunch of canned goods and dumping them into a pan”.  That is NOT this cake.  I am not really sure where it gets the”dump-it” name as there is not any more dumping in this cake than in any other.  Hmmm.  I suppose it is not important.  What is important is the recipe, here it is. 

Oh, by the way, Nova did get to did her thanksgiving performance and the cake was devoured.  When I picked up the retro cake stand (thanks Jennie!), the parents raved about it.  When I picked up the pot for the adobo, no one said a thing.  And, the amount of chicken left-over just solidifies my decision to focus on sweets rather than savory.

Leave a Reply

